Carnegie Mellon University Department of Chemistry


Research Centers

Department of Chemistry faculty are leaders or collaborators in Carnegie Mellon’s many research centers, including:

CAPS logo

Center for Atmospheric Particle Studies

Director: Peter Adams, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering & Engineering and Public Policy
(with the College of Engineering and the Mellon College of Science)

photo of Kris Matyjaszewski in the Center for Macromolecular Engineering

Center for Macromolecular Engineering

Director: Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, J. C. Warner University Professor of Natural Sciences
Associate Director: James Spanswick

photo in the Center for Molecular Analysis

Center for Molecular Analysis (CMA)

Director: Mark E. Bier, Research Professor of Chemistry
Director, NMR Facility:
Roberto R. Gil, Research Professor of Chemistry

CNAST logo

Center For Nucleic Acids Science And Technology (CNAST)

Co-Director: Bruce Armitage, Professor of Chemistry
Co-Director: John Woolford, Professor of Biological Sciences

logo of the Institute for Green Science

Institute for Green Science

Director: Terrence J. Collins, Teresa Heinz Professor in Green Chemistry

Our faculty is also involved with the following centers

Center for Complex Fluids Engineering (CCFE)

Director: Robert Tilton, Professor of Chemical Engineering and Biomedical Engineering Director, Colloids, Polymers and Surfaces (CPS)
Educational Program: Annette Jacobson, Teaching Professor of Chemical Engineering

Center for the Mechanics and Engineering of Cellular Systems

Director: Philip LeDuc, Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Center for Nano-enabled Device and Energy Technologies (CNXT)

Director: Elias Towe, Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering and Materials Science & Engineering

Center for Polymer-Based Protein Engineering (CPBPE)

Co-Director: Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, J. C. Warner University Professor of Natural Sciences and Director, Center for Macromolecular Engineering
Alan Russell, Highmark Distinguished Career Professor; Director, Disruptive Health Technology Institute; Institute for Complex Engineering Systems; Department of Biomedical Engineering

Molecular Biosensors and Imaging Center

Director: Marcel Bruchez, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biological Sciences

Pittsburgh Supercomputing Center

Executive Director: David Moses

Scott Institute for Energy Innovation

Director: Jared L. Cohon, President Emeritus and University Professor
Co-Director:Andrew J. Gellman, Lord Professor of Chemical Engineering

Steinbrenner Environmental Institute for Education and Research

Faculty Director: Neil Donahue, Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
Executive Director: Deborah Lange

Additional research centers in the Mellon College of Science.