Carnegie Mellon University Department of Chemistry

Graduate Program

John & Nancy Harrison Legacy Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry and Biochemistry

Thanks to the generosity of Drs. John and Nancy Harrison, the Department is very pleased to announce the competition for a Dissertation Fellowship originally established by the Harrisons in 2001. The previous recipients of the fellowship have been Jeff Pyun, Tomislav Pintauer, Bhaskar Datta, Nicolay Tsarevsky, Arani Chanda, Wade Braunecker, Hongchen Dong, Greg Drodz, Wenwen Li, Saadyah Averick, Hongkun He, Chenjie Zeng, Yunyan Qiu and Genoa Warner. Note that the recipient of the fellowship will be expected to write to the donors periodically to keep them apprised of ongoing progress and to provide a copy of the thesis upon graduation.

All ABD students are eligible to apply. We will identify 1-2 students to receive the fellowship beginning in September and continuing for up to one year, or until they graduate, whichever comes first. $3000/year will supplement the student’s stipend, and a total of $1000 can be used for the student’s travel to conferences.

The process for selecting a student will be based on supporting a dedicated graduate student who is already demonstrating promise with research accomplishments and other indications of leadership potential. Students who wish to be considered must submit 6 copies of the following:

The student should also arrange for:

Six hard copies of the applications should be submitted to Rea Freeland, also indicating who is providing the letter of support. Questions should be addressed to Rea Freeland at x87981 or The final decisions will be made by the Graduate Program Committee in consultation with the Department Head (note that GPC members whose own students are applying will not serve on the award committee).