Carnegie Mellon contact uslinkssite index
The Matyjaszewski Polymer Group

Matyjaszewski Group Members

About the Matyjaszewski Group
Research Areas
Professor Matyjaszewski
Group Members
Papers

Center for Macromolecular Engineering

CRP Consortium

About
Objectives
Benefits
Intellectual Property
Papers for Consortium Members only (password required)

ATRP Consortium
(1996–2000)

Home

Former Group Members

Ph.D. Recipients

M. Sc. Degree Recipients

Postdoctoral Fellows and Visiting Scholars

Exchange Students/Researchers

Undergraduate Students


Ph.D. Recipients

Renaud Nicolay
Ph.D. 2009
Postdoctoral fellow at Eindhoven University of Technology
R.B.Nicolay@tue.nl

Lynne A. McCullough
Ph.D. 2009

Sidi Bencherif
Ph.D. 2009
Postdoctoral fellow at Harvard University

Haifeng Gao
Ph.D. 2008
Postdoctoral fellow at University of California, Berkeley
hgao@berkeley.edu

Wade Braunecker
Ph.D. 2008
Postdoctoral fellow at National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Wade.Braunecker@nrel.gov

Ke Min
Ph.D. 2008
Postdoctoral fellow at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
minkechina@gmail.com

Wei Tang
Ph.D. 2008
Postdoctoral fellow at Princeton University
wtang6@gmail.com

Daniel Siegwart
Ph.D. 2008
Postdoctoral fellow at M.I.T.
siegwart@mit.edu

Wei Wu
Employed by Intel
weiwu@andrew.cmu.edu

Wojtek Jakubowski
VP of Manufacturing, ATRP Solutions
wjakubow@andrew.cmu.edu

Hyung-il Lee
Ph.D. 2007
Postdoctoral fellow at M.I.T.
hyungil@mit.edu

Jinyu Huang
Ph.D. 2007
Employed by Ciba Vision
jinyu.huang@cibavision.com

Chuanbing Tang
Ph.D. 2006
Postdoctoral Associate at University of California, Santa Barbara
ctang@mrl.ucsb.edu

Nicolay V. Tsarevsky
CSO, ATRP Solutions
nvt@andrew.cmu.edu, nvt@atrpsolutions.com

Tomislav Pintauer
Ph.D. 2002
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Duquesne University
pintauert@duq.edu

Jeff Pyun
Ph.D. August 2002
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry, University of Arizona
Former Postdoctoral Associate at IBM and University of California, Berkeley
jpyun@email.arizona.edu

Kelly A. Davis
Ph.D. January 2001
Postdoctoral Associate at University of Colorado at Boulder

Hyun-jong Paik
Professor, Dept. of Polmer Science and Engineering
Pusan National University, KOREA

Jian Qiu
Ph.D. November 2000
Pall Corporation
jian_qiu@pall.com

Kathryn Beers
Ph.D. August 2000
Research Chemist, NIST
kathryn.beers@nist.gov

Jianhui Xia
Ph.D. August 1999
Employed by 3M
jxia@mmm.com

Peter Miller
Ph.D. June 1999
Employed by Eastman Chemicals
pjmiller@eastman.com

Dorota Greszta-Franz
Ph.D. June 1997,
Employed by Bayer AG
BPO-IN-LS-ALI-PK
Leverkusen, Q 1-2
Tel.: +49(0)214/30-71318
dorota.greszta-franz.dg@bayer-ag.de
http://www.bayer-ag.de

Scott Gaynor
Ph.D. April 1997,
Employed by Dow Chemicals
SGGaynor@dow.com

Eric Fossum
Ph.D. May 1995,
Professor at Wright State University
Phone: 937-775-2047
eric.fossum@wright.edu

Mike White
Ph.D. August 1994,
Senior Research Chemist
PPG Industries
4325 Roseanna Dr.
Allison Park, Pa. 15101
Phone: (412)492-5340
whiteml@ppg.com

Home address:
494 Woodland Rd
Pittsburgh, Pa 15237
Phone: (412)364-2237
grasul2@msn.com

Daniela and I have been happily married for 6 years and have a wonderful 5 year old daughter, Annabelle. We have both been employed by PPG Industries at the Coatings and Resins research facility since 1997. We currently reside in the North Hills of Pittsburgh.

Robert A. Montague
M.S. 1988
Ph.D. 1993
PPG Industries, Inc.
Research Director and Adjunct Professor of Chemistry
La Roche College,
Pittsburgh, PA
montague@ppg.com

My wife (Sharon) and I reside in Allison Park, PA since 1986.

Jeff Hrkach
Ph.D. March 1993
Senior Director, Drug Delivery
Momenta Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
617 395 5176 - phone
617 621 0431 - fax
jeffh@momentapharma.com
http://www.momentapharma.com/

Karen Ruehl
Ph.D. January 1992,
Employed by Calgon

Chi-Hwa (Wallace) Lin
Ph.D. April 1991
President, SynNovate Technology Co.
jitlolus@yahoo.com.tw

Hwan Kyu Kim
Ph.D. November 1990
Professor, Department Head
Department of Polymer Science and Engineering
Hannam University
133 Ojung-dong Daeduck-gu
Taejon 306-791, Korea
Tel: +82-42-629-7865(O) & +82-42-533-1494 (Home)
Fax: +82-42-626-8841
hwankkim@mail.hannam.ac.kr

top


M. Sc. Degree Recipients

Mike Zeigler, 2000
PPG Industries
4325 Roseanna Dr.
Allison Park, Pa. 15101
Phone: (412)492-5617
mziegler@ppg.com

Stephen Arehart, 1999

Apala Bhaumik, 1998
Employed by National Starch
Apala.Bhaumik@nstarch.com

Priya Bhalchandani, 1996

Angelique Bon, 1994
angelique.bon@poboxes.com

Shaoyun Xiang, 1992

Eric Nickel, 1989

top


Former Postdoctoral Fellows and Visiting Scholars

Dr. Tomasz Halamus
Postdoctoral Associate

Annette Kelsch
Visiting Student

Dr. Chih-Feng Huang
Postdoctoral Associate

Fabio Paris
Visiting Student

Dr. Andrzej Plichta
Assistant Professor in Department of Polymer Chemistry and Technology Faculty of Chemistry, Warsaw University of Technology ul. Noakowskiego 3, 00-664 Warszawa Poland
aplichta@ch.pw.edu.pl

Johannes Harder
Visiting Student

Dr. Florian Seeliger
Postdoctoral Associate
flosee@gmx.de

Dr. Wim Van Camp
Visiting Researcher
wim.vancamp@ugent.be

Dr. Sebastien Viale
Visiting Researcher
sviale@cip.org

Junko Aimi
Visiting Student
junko.aimi@gmail.com

Dr. Fabio Di Lena
Postdoctoral Associate
fabio_di_lena@ices.a-star.edu.sg

Dr. Andrew Bohaty
Postdoctoral Associate
abohaty@andrew.cmu.edu

Yuichi Yamamura
Visiting Researcher
yuichiya@andrew.cmu.edu

Dr. Shinichi Yamamoto
Visiting Researcher
syamamot@andrew.cmu.edu

Dr. Kenya Tanaka
Visiting Researcher
kenyat@andrew.cmu.edu

Dr. Jung Kwon Oh
Senior Research Chemist
Dow Latex R&D

The Dow Chemical Company
1604 Building
Midland, MI 48640
jkoh2@dow.com

Shigeki Ohno
Visiting Researcher
shigekio@andrew.cmu.edu

Dr. Atsushi Kajiwara
Visiting Professor
kajiwara@nara-edu.ac.jp

Dr. Betul Kirci Denizli
betuldenizli@gmail.com

Dr. Joanna Pietrasik
Postdoctoral Associate
joannap@andrew.cmu.edu

Humeyra Mert
Visiting Researcher
hmert@andrew.cmu.edu

Hiromu Kaneyoshi
Visiting Researcher

Dr. Bruno Dufour
Postdoctoral Associate

Dr. Brent Sumerlin
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry
Southern Methodist University
PO Box 750314
Dallas, Texas 75275-0314

PH: (214) 768-8802
FX: (214) 768-4089
bsumerlin@smu.edu

Dr. Michal Kruk
Assistant Professor
Department f Chemistry
The College of Staten Island
The City University of New York

Jeongbin Ok
Visiting Researcher
jok@andrew.cmu.edu

Dr. Atsushi Nagai
Former postdoctoral Associate
anagai2@andrew.cmu.edu

Dr. Traian Sarbu
Emplored by Plextronics
tsarbu@andrew.cmu.edu

Dr. Nazeem Jahed
Employed by Polymer Standards Service
njahed@andrew.cmu.edu

Dr. Yujiro Itami
Employed by Fuji Film
Netherlands
yitami@andrew.cmu.edu

Dr. Francisco Diaz Camacho
Former Postdoctoral Associate
fdc@andrew.cmu.edu

Dr. Yang-Kyoo Han
Visiting Scholar
Professor, Chemistry Dept.
Hanyang University
Phone: (412) 268-9088
Fax: (412) 268-6897
ykhan@hanyang.ac.kr

Yoshihisa Inoue
Mitsui Co.

Dr. Ajaya K. Nanda
Postdoctoral Researcher
University of Southern Mississippi

Dr. Mei Li
Project Manager
Nanomat Inc.
1061 Main Street
North Huntingdon, PA 15642- 7425
Tel: 724-978-2209; Fax: 724-978-0010
mli@nanomat.com

Dr. Jean-Francois Lutz, 2001–2003
Fraunhofer Institut for Applied Polymer Science
Nanotechnology for Life Science
Geiselbergstraße 69
14476 Golm

Telefon +49 (0) 331/ 568 1127
Telefax +49 (0) 331/ 568 3000
http://www.nano-lifescience.com
lutz@iap.fraunhofer.de

Dr. Dorota Neugebauer, 2001–2003
Max Plank Institute
Dorota.Neugebauer@mpip-mainz.mpg.de

Dr. Tianqi Liu, 2002–2003
Cabot
tianqi_liu@cabot-corp.com

Dr. Mihaela Iovu, 2002–2003
Postdoctoral Researcher with Professor Richard McCullough
Carnegie Mellon University
mci@andrew.cmu.edu

Dr. Im Sik Chung, 2002–2003

Dr. Shuhui Qin, 2001–2002
Oklahoma State University
shuhuiqin@hotmail.com

Dr. Sang Beom Lee, 2002
University of Pittsburgh

Dr. Gena Ananchenko, 2001
University of Zurich, Switzerland
gena@pci.unizh.ch

Dr. Sung Chul Hong, 2000–2002
Crompton Corporation
sungchul@hotmail.com

Dr. Alexandros Kavros, 2001
kavros@hotmail.com

Dr. Jianhui Xia, 1999–2000
Employed by 3M
jxia@mmm.com

Dr. Bernd Gobelt, 1999–2000
Employed by BYK-Chemie GmbH
bgobelt@gmx.de; bernd.goebelt@byk.com

Dr. Scott Gaynor, 1997–2000
Employed by Dow Chemicals
SGGaynor@dow.com

Dr. Stephanie Jousset, 1999–2000
Employed by Elf Atochem
SJousset@ato.com

Dr. Mircea Teodorescu, 1998–2000
Professor at Polytechnic Institute, Bucarest, Romania
M_TEODORESCU@chim.upb.ro

Dr. Devon Shipp, 1997–1999
Professor at Clarkson University
shippda@clarkson.edu

Dr. Anne Shim, 1999
Employed by Dow Corning
akshim@tm.net

Dr. Xuan Zhang, 1997–1999
Employed by W. R. Grace
Xuan.Zhang@grace.com

Dr. Veerle Coessens, 1997–1999
Employed by Recticel
Damstraat 2
B-9230 Wetteren
Tel.: +32 (0)9 368 9073
Fax: +32 (0)9 368 9539
veerle_coessens@idc.recticel.be

Dr. Mathias Destarac, 1997–1998
Research Chemist at Rhodia Recherches (Aubervilliers, France)
phone: 33+ 1 49 37 62 50
fax: 33+ 1 49 37 69 06
Mathias.DESTARAC@EU.RHODIA.COM

Dr. Guido Kickelbick, 1997–1998
Assistant Professor at Vienna University of Technology
Getreidemarkt 9/153
Institut fuer Anorganische Chemie
A-1060 Wien
Tel.: ++43-1-58801-15321
Fax.: ++43-1-58801-15399
kickelgu@mail.zserv.tuwien.ac.at

Dr. Metin H. Acar, 1997–1998
Professor at Technical University of Istanbul, Turkey
macar@itu.edu.tr

Dr. Brian Woodworth, 1997–1998
Employed by PPG
bwoodworth@ppg.com

Dr. Christina Jasieczek, 1996–1998
Employed by PPG
jasieczek@ppg.com

Dr. Andreas Muehlebach, 1997–1998
Employed by Ciba
andreas.muehlebach@cibasc.com

Dr. Jen-Lung Wang, 1996–1997
Employed by RohMax
jen-lung.wang@degussa.com

Dr. Atsushi Kajiwara, 1996–1997
Professor at Nara University, Japan
kajiwara@nara-edu.ac.jp

Dr. Mingli Wei, 1996–1997
Employed by Nalco
mwei@Nalco.Com

Dr. Seong Mu Jo, 1995–1997
Employed by KAIST
smjo@kistmail.kist.re.kr

Dr. Yoshiki Nakagawa, 1995–1997
Employed by Kaneka
Yoshiki_Nakagawa@kn.kaneka.co.jp

Dr. Timothy Patten, 1995–1996
Professor at University of California at Davis
patten@indigo.ucdavis.edu

Dr. Simion Coca, 1994–1997
Employed by PPG
coca@ppg.com

Dr. Jin-Shan Wang, 1994–1995
Research Associate at Kodak
phone: 716 722-6574.
jswang@kodak.com

Dr. Takeo Shigemoto, 1993–1995
Employed by JSR
takeo_shigemoto@jsr.co.jp

Dr. Mircea Teodorescu, 1993–1994
Professor at Polytechnic Institute, Bucarest, Romania
M_TEODORESCU@chim.upb.ro

Dr. Kenkichi Sakamoto, 1993–1994
Professor at Tohoku University, Japan
sakamoto@si.chem.tohoku.ac.jp

Dr. Ryszard Szymanski, 1993
Polish Academy of Sciences
rszymans@bilbo.cbmm.lodz.pl

Dr. Daniela White (née Mardare), 1993-1995
Senior Research Chemist
PPG Industries
Phone: (412)492-5209
dwhite@ppg.com

Dr. Jim Maxka, 1992–1993
Professor at Northern Arizona University
Jim.Maxka@nau.edu

Dr. Coleen Pugh,1992
Professor at University of Akron
cpugh@polymer.uakron.edu

Dr. J. Chrusciel, 1991–1992
Professor at Lodz Polytechnic Institute, Poland
jchrusci@ck-sg.p.lodz.pl

Dr. M. Cypryk, 1990–1991
Polish Academy of Sciences
mcypryk@bilbo.cbmm.lodz.pl

Dr. C.-Y. Hu, 1989–1990
Academia Sinica

Dr. B. S. Rao, 1989–1990
Indian National Laboratories

Dr. Yogendra Gupta, 1987–1990
US Patent Office
Chemical Products & Processes, Solar Cells & Sputtering Apparatuses
703 308-4708

Dr. B. Karandikar, 1987–1988

Dr. Y. L. Chen, 1986–1987
President, Chrom Expert Company
8179-A Belvedere Ave.
Sacramento, CA 95826
Phone: (916) 731-8000
Fax: (916) 452-8888
ylchen@chromx.com

top


Exchange Students/Researchers

Fabien Perineau
Visiting Student
fabienp@andrew.cmu.edu

Guillaume Louche
Exchange Student
guillaume-louche@enscp.fr

Sherryl Yu
Current graduate student in the lab of Professor Sergei Sheiko
Sheiko Group Homepage
syu@email.unc.edu

Katrien Bernaerts
Current Graduate student in the lab of Professor Filip Du Prez
Department of Organic Chemistry
Polymer Chemistry Research Group
Ghent University
Belgium
Katrien.Bernaerts@UGent.be

Catarina Esteves
Current Graduate student
CICECO & University of Aveiro
Aveiro, Portugal

Hideaki Itoh, 2003
Visiting Scholar
hitoh@andrw.cmu.edu

Delphine Dispa, 2003
Chimie de Paris, France

Betul Kirci, 2001–2002
Hacettepe University
Faculty of Science, Department of Chemistry
Beytepe, 06532 ANKARA-TURKEY
kirci@hacettepe.edu.tr

Jerome Gromada, 2001–2002
University of Lille, France
jgromada@hotmail.com

Christine Strissel, 2001
Technical University of Munich, Germany
Christine.Strissel@ch.tum.de

Hosei Shinoda, 1999–2001
Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.
Hosei.Shinoda@mitsui-chem.co.jp

Gabriele Wittmann, 2000
Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany
Phone: ++49 6151 16-5178
GWittmann@dki.tu-darmstadt.de

Lars G. Hahn, 1999
University of Goettingen, Germany
Phone: ++49 551-9968781
lhahn@stud.uni-goettingen.de; lhahn@hahnsolutions.com

Jerome Queffelec, 1999
Ecole Normale Superieure Paris, France,
queffelec.jerome@caramail.com

Sagrario Pascual, 1998
University of Paris, France
Sagrario.Pascual@univ-lemans.fr

Sebastian Roos, 1996
University of Mainz, Germany
s_roos@rohmax.com

Maarten Krupers, 1996
University of Ulm, Germany

Thomas Grimaud, 1995–1996
Elf Atochem
TGVS@club_internet.fr

Manabu Sasaki, 1993–1994
Sumitomo Co., Japan

Uli Franz, 1992–1993
University of Munich, Germany

Hiroto Uchida, 1990–1991
Mitsubishi Metal Co., Japan

Jochen Dauth, 1991
University of Bayreuth, Germany

Holger Frey, 1990, 1993
University of Freiburg, Germany and University of Twente, Holland
holfrey@fmf.uni-freiburg.de

top


Former Undergraduate Students

Monisha Mandalaywala
SUNY Stony Brook Medical School

Robert Lee

Beth M. Cooper

Blayne McKenzie
Graduate student at Case Western Reserve

Oliver Wojtyna

Koon-Yee (Grace) Lin

John Ell

Liz Glogowski
eg2@andrew.cmu.edu

Steve Diamanti, 1997–2000,
Graduate student at UC, Santa Barbara
diamanti@engineering.ucsb.edu

Tony Kulfan, 1995–1997
Employed by PPG
kulfan@ppg.com

Shane Edelman, 1994–1996,
Employed by GE
shane.edleman@crd.ge.com

Jennifer Hart (Eliseef), 1994–1996
Professor at Johns Hopkins University
jhe@bme.jhu.edu

Jon Love, 1993–1995
Employed by PPG
jlove@ppg.com

Frank Burkus, 1991–1994
Employed by GE
frank.burkus@gepex.ge.com

top