Carnegie Mellon University Department of Chemistry

Past Poster Sessions

Graduate Program

Poster Session for Research Progress Reports

Friday, February 19, 2016
4:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m.
Mellon Institute Conference Room, Third Floor

The following 4th semester Chemistry graduate students will present their research at the poster session on Friday, February 19 from 4:00 p.m.–6:00 p.m. in the Mellon Institute Social Room, Third Floor.

Committee members should plan to attend to give students preliminary feedback before their oral exams. All members of the department are encouraged to participate in the discussions. Refreshments will be served.

Questions about the poster session can be directed to Valerie Bridge, or x8-3150.

Anne Arnold

Biomimetic Functionalized Graphene for Biodegradable Bone Implants

Committee: Stefanie Sydlik, Newell Washburn, Krzysztof Matyjaszewski

April Berlyoung

Comparative Analysis of PNA Modifications on DNA Heteroquadruplex Formation

Committee:Bruce Armitage, Marcel Bruchez, Danith Ly

Christopher Collins

Using Machine Learning and Molecular Similarity to Predict Chemical Properties

Committee: David Yaron, Maria Kurnikova, Geoffrey Gordon

Ruixi Fan

Spectroscopic and Computational Study on the C-H Halogenation by Model Complex [FeIVO(TQA)(X)]+X=C1-/Br-

Committee: Yisong Guo, Michael Hendrich, Catalina Achim, Eckard Münck

Leif Jahn

Development of the Laser Ablation Aerosol Particle Time-of-Flight Mass Spectrometer to Investigate the Chemical, Morphological, and Ice-Nucleating Properties of Biomass Burning Aerosol

Committee: Ryan Sullivan, Neil Donahue, Mark Bier

Sriram Kumar Rasipur Satish Kumar

Committee: Subha Das, Catalina Achim, Newell Washburn

Sushil Lathwal

DNA-Polymer Biohybrids: Synthesis and Applications

Committee: Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Subha Das, Bruce Armitage, Stefanie Sydlik

Qi Li

Atomically Precise Ligand-Protected Alloy Nanoclusters and Surface-Modified Silicon Nanoparticles

Committee: Rongchao Jin, Stefan Bernhard, Linda Peteanu, Yisong Guo

Sipei Li

Novel ATRP Polymers for Bio and Energy Appliction

Committee: Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Subha Das, Michael Bockstaller

Yao Li

Molecular Dynamics Simulation of PEO Electrolytes Doped with LiPF6: Effect of Polymer Chair Length and Salt Concentration on Electrolyte Conductivity

Committee: Hyung Kim, Maria Kurnikova, David Yaron

Kedar Perkins

Surfactant Properties of PEGylated Lignins

Committee: Newell Washburn, Kevin Noonan, Stefanie Sydlik

Yogesh Somasundar

FeIII-H2O2 Redox Systems for Green Oxidative Degradation of Propranolol

Committee: Terrence Collins, Stefan Bernhard, Ryan Sullivan

Zongyu Wang

Synthesis of Polymer/ZnO Hybrid Materials and Some Applications

Committee: Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Rongchao Jin, Michael Bockstaller

Zoe Wright

Therapeutic Adhesives: Covalently Modified Acrylates for Enhanced Wound Healing

Committee: Stefanie Sydlik, Newell Washburn, Krzysztof Matyjaszewski