Carnegie Mellon University Department of Chemistry

Past Poster Sessions

Graduate Program

Poster Session for Research Progress Reports

Friday, March 1, 2013
4:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m.
Mellon Institute Social Room, Third Floor

Fourth semester Chemistry graduate students will present their research at the poster session, as noted by the Research Progress Report requirement.

Committee members should plan to attend to give students preliminary feedback before their oral exams. All members of the department are encouraged to participate in the discussions. Refreshments will be served.

Questions about the poster session can be directed to Valerie Bridge, or x8-3150.

Adam Ahern

Development, Lab Characterization, and Field Deployment of the Laser Ablation Aerosol Particle Mass Spectrometer

Committee: N. Donahue, R. Sullivan, M. Bier, A. Presto

Danielle Chirdon

Development and Investigation of Inorganic Complexes as Electronic Materials

Committee: S. Bernhard, L. Peteanu, T. Kowalewski

Jianjun He

Investigation of Malachite Green Modifications on Fluorogen-Activating Proteins (FAPs): Charges Effects and Fluorination Effects

Committee: M. Bruchez, D. Ly, K. Noonan

Siyao Jiang

Copolymers of P3HT for Solar Cell Application

Committee: T. Kowalewski, R. Jin, K. Noonan

Husain Kagalwala

Photocatalytic Hydrogen Generation

Committee: S. Bernhard, R. Jin, C. Achim

Melissa Lamson

The Use of ATRP in Dispersed Media to Synthesize Polymeric Materials

Committee: K. Matyjaszewski, T. Kowalewski, R. Tilton

Matthew Mills

Degradation of Ethinyl Estradiol in Water Using Iron Coordination Compounds

Committee: T. Collins, K. Noonan, S. Bernhard

Munira Fouz

Bright Fluorescent Nanotags Based on Nucleic Acids

Committee: B. Armitage, S. Das, M. Bruchez, D. Ly

Matharishwan Naganbabu

Tuning Photostability and Resolution of Biological Images Using Synthetic Chemistry

Committee: M. Bruchez, S. Das, B. Armitage

Stanley Oyaghire

Selecting a Quadruplex-Forming Sequence (QFS) Through Chimeric PNA Recognition

Committee: B. Armitage, S. Das, D. Ly

Yunyan Qiu

Iminophosphorane Ligands: Inorganic Analogues of Phenoxyimine and Salen Frameworks

Committee: T. Kowalewski, K. Noonan, R. Jin, K. Matyjaszewski

Selma Ulku

Chiral Nucleic-Acid Based Systems for Spin Filters

Committee: C. Achim, B. Armitage, D. Ly

Andrew Weitz

Spectroscopic Detection and Characterization of a Key Intermediate in the Mechanism of NO Reductase

Committee: M. Hendrich, E. Münck, S. Das

Joshua Worch

New Phosphorous Containing Heteroaromatics for Catalysis and Materials Applications

Committee: K. Noonan, N. Washburn, B. Armitage

Eric Wu

Spectroscopic and Computational Study on the Heterogeneity and Solvation Dynamics of Ionic Liquids

Committee: H. Kim, L. Peteanu, M. Kurnikova, R. Sullivan

Weinan Yang

Synthesis of Bisazaphospholes and Related Polymers

Committee: K. Noonan, R. Jin, S. Bernhard

Penglin Ye

Secondary Organic Aerosol Production of Pinanediol

Committee: N. Donahue, R. Jin, R. Sullivan

Chenjie Zeng

The Role of Thiolate Ligands in Determining the Size and Structure of Atomically Precise Gold Nanoclusters

Committee: R. Jin, C. Achim, M. Bruchez