Carnegie Mellon University Department of Chemistry

Past Poster Sessions

Graduate Program

Poster Session for Research Progress Reports

Friday, March 2, 2012
4:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m.
Mellon Institute Social Room, Third Floor

Fourth semester Chemistry graduate students will present their research at the poster session, as noted by the Research Progress Report requirement.

Committee members should plan to attend to give students preliminary feedback before their oral exams. All members of the department are encouraged to participate in the discussions. Refreshments will be served.

Questions about the poster session can be directed to Valerie Bridge, or x8-3150.

Anthony Brooks

Photon Driven Zinc Reduction

Committee: S. Bernhard, K. Noonan, T. Collins

Anindita Das

Synthesis, Characterization and Applications of Quantum-Sized Gold Nanoclusters

Committee: R. Jin, S. Bernhard, C. Achim

Sourav Dey

Biochemical and Single Molecule Studies of Branches RNA and Debranching Enzyme

Committee: S. Das, L. Peteanu, M. Bruchez, M. Macbeth

Hongkun He

Polymer-Functionalized Materials for CO2 Capture

Committee: K. Matyjaszewski, R. Jin, M. Bockstaller

Santosh Kumar

Synthesis and Characterization of Water-Soluble Gold and Silver Nanoclusters

Committee: R. Jin, L. Peteanu, D. Ly

Christian Legaspi

The Mechanism and Effect of Field-Induced Quenching in Fluorescent, Conjugated Polymer Materials

Committee: L. Peteanu, D. Yaron, H. Kim, S. Bernhard

Arunava Manna

Development of Modified Nucleobases for High Salt B-DNA Invasion

Committee: D. Ly, N. Washburn, S. Das

Katlyn Meier

Spectroscopic Characterization of a Novel [O=Fev=NR]+ Center

Committee: E. Münck, C. Achim, E. Bominaar, M. Hendrich

Jacob Mohin

Organic Electronic Devices: Nanoscale Implications for Effective Design and Fabrication

Committee: T. Kowalewski, S. Bernhard, R. McCullough

Elizabeth Rastede

Synthesis and Characterization of Substituted Thiazole Orange Dyes

Committee: B. Armitage, M. Bruchez, D. Ly

Antonina Simakov

Application of Atom Transfer Radical Polymerization (ATRP) to Preparation of Biomaterials

Committee: K. Matyjaszewski, N. Washburn, R. Tilton

Liang Tang

A Peroxidase to Oxidase Switch of the Fe-TAML Chemistry in Aerosol OT Reverse Micelles

Committee: T. Collins, R. Jin, K. Noonan

Matteus Tanha

Application and Development of Semi-Empirical Quantum Chemical Methods

Committee: D. Yaron, M. Kurnikova, B. Armitage

James Woods

Water Oxidation Catalysis

Committee: S. Bernhard, T. Collins, K. Matyjaszewski