Carnegie Mellon University Department of Chemistry

About the Department


Second year graduate students Audria Stubna and Ben Janesko have received 2002 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Awards

photo of Audria Stubna and Ben JaneskoThe 2002 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Award and Honorable Mention Recipients have been announced. This year Ben Janesko and Audria Stubna, have applied and received fellowships. Ben is a member of the Yaron group in this third semester and submitted a proposal on constrained quantum chemistry. Audria is a member of the Münck group in her fourth semester of graduate work. Her proposal was on "Mossbauer Spectroscopy: studying details of complex biological systems". Both Ben and Audria are alumni of Allegheny College.

For comparison, other chemistry or biochemistry departments with more than one NSF graduate fellowship this year are Harvard, MIT, Stanford, UC Berkeley, UCSF, CalTech, Scripps and U. of Wisconsin Madison. Within Carnegie Mellon, there were 12 such graduate fellowships.

The fellowship includes tuition and stipend for three years. Students are eligible to apply as graduating seniors through the beginning of the second year of graduate school.

April 2002