Carnegie Mellon University Department of Chemistry

About the Department


Ke Min selected for 2006 Kenneth G. Hancock Memorial Award in Green Chemistry

photo of Ke MinKe Min, a third year student in the Matyjaszewski group, has been selected to receive the 2006 Kenneth G. Hancock Memorial Award in Green Chemistry by the ACS Green Chemistry Institute. The award provides national recognition for outstanding student contributions to furthering the goals of green chemistry. The award will be presented June 26 at the 2006 Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Awards Ceremony at the National Academies in Washington.

Ke’s research extends the use of atom transfer radical polymerization (ATRP) to economically viable and environmentally benign aqueous dispersed media, which are applicable to a diverse choice of hydrophobic monomers and have extensive use in industry. Recent accomplishments include the first successful microemulsion ATRP and the development of the first ab initio emulsion ATRP using a two-stage emulsion approach, in which a microemulsion ATRP was initiated before addition of the second monomer. She was also involved in the recent developments in ATRP Activators Generated by Electron Transfer (AGET) and Activators ReGenerated by Electron Transfer (ARGET) techniques. With these techniques the catalyst concentration in ATRP has been dramatically decreased to only a few parts per million by using environmentally benign reducing agents.

Ke Min joined the department with a B.S. in Chemistry from Nanjing University and an M.S. in Polymer Chemistry and Physics from Fudan University. She was selected as the recipient of a Bayer Fellowship in 2003 and will complete internships at Bayer Materials Science in Summer 2006 and 2007. She is the third person affiliated with Carnegie Mellon Chemistry to receive the Hancock Award. Dr. Nick Tsarevsky, Ph.D. graduate from the Matyjaszewski group in 2005 and currently Visiting Assistant Professor in Chemistry at Carnegie Mellon, was co-recipient in 2003 and Dr. Anindya Ghosh, Ph.D. graduate from the Collins group in 2004, received this award in 2005.

April 19, 2006