Carnegie Mellon University Department of Chemistry

About the Department


Krzysztof Matyjaszewski has received the award of the Foundation for Polish Science

Krzysztof Matyjaszewski received in October 2004 the award of the Foundation for Polish Science, which is commonly called the Polish Nobel Prize. The award was granted for the “discovery and commercialization of new methods of controlled radical polymerization”. The award, which has been granted by the Foundation annually since 1991, is widely viewed as a most prestigious science award in Poland. It is given to outstanding scientists whose achievements and discoveries within last four years “constitute an important contribution towards the advancement of science, spiritual life and civilization in Poland, and grant our country an important place in the international community of science”. This year’s other recipients are Prof. Jadwiga Staniszkis (sociology), Prof. Janusz Limon (medicine), and Prof. Wojciech J. Stec (chemistry). The awards will be presented to the recipients at a ceremony which will take place on December 3 at the Royal Castle in Warsaw.

December 1, 2004